How Do You Measure Success

We have all seen many definitions of Success. There are also many suggestions out there as to how Success can be measured. I think Success is a personal thing. Many of us tell ourselves and others, “When I get here, I will be successful.” Or “When I make this much money, I will be a success.” To me, these are pretty narrow definitions or measures of Success.

You can make lots of money, but have a lousy personal life. In fact, so many of us spend so much time making that money, that we neglect the personal side. Our spouses and children barely know us, yet they have lots of stuff. Is that your definition of success? It’s not mine, and probably not yours either. The longer I live, the more I realize that family, friends and having time to enjoy them are the important things in life.

I found this quote the other day by Booker T. Washington: “Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which they have overcome.” I think that’s pretty profound. Who doesn’t have obstacles placed in their road to Success? We all do. The difference between those of us who are successful and those of us who fail is that the successful ones don’t quit. They look at obstacles and see opportunities, or at least a way around them. They may even fail, but they don’t quit.

So…….how do YOU define/ measure success in your life? Interesting question, HUH? Have you given up on something because it just got too hard? Maybe you should take another look at it. It’s never too late.

4 thoughts on “How Do You Measure Success

  1. Pingback: Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it. | philosiblog

  2. Pingback: Day 3 | What's The Magic Word

Leave a comment